Honor Roll – Summer 2018

Dr. Cato T. Laurencin received an honorary Doctor of Science degree from the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai.

Connecticut Magazine‘s 2018 Best Doctors list included 48 UConn Health physicians across 24 specialties.

Albert Cheng, Ph.D., assistant professor at The Jackson Laboratory for Genomic Medicine, was named to Connecticut Magazine’s 40 under 40 list for 2018.

The UConn Health Board of Directors named Dr. Brenton Graveley Health Net, Inc. Chair in Genetics and Developmental Biology and Dr. David McFadden Murray-Heilig Chair in Surgery.

Dr. Christine Finck, UConn School of Medicine associate professor of pediatrics and surgery, was honored with a Women of Innovation award by The Connecticut Technology Council (CTC) for her research innovation and leadership.

Dr. Katherine Coyner was honored by her alma mater UMass Amherst with its Distinguished Achievement Award.

Dr. Juan Salazar, professor and chair of the Department of Pediatrics at the UConn School of Medicine, was named a member of the Vaccine and Therapeutics Subcommittee of the Tick-Borne Disease Working Group established this year by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

Liisa Tiina Kuhn, Ph.D., associate head and associate professor of biomedical engineering at the UConn School of Dental Medicine was elected to the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering’s College of Fellows.

Dr. Richard Fortinsky received the 2018 Leader in Advancing Research Award from the Alzheimer’s Association, Connecticut Chapter.