Honor Roll – Fall 2019

Connecticut Magazine’s 2019 Best Doctors issue includes 48 UConn Health physicians, while six UConn Health dentists made the magazine’s Top Dentists list.

Nancy Dupont, MPH, BSN, RN, received the 2019 Association for Professionals in Infection Control and Epidemiology (APIC) Chapter Leader Award for her achievements in developing the APIC New England Chapter member community and in advancing infection prevention.

Dr. Cato T. Laurencin was the first UConn Health faculty member to be elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Dr. Jacqueline “Kiki” Nissen received the 2019 UConn Health Board of Directors Faculty Recognition Award.

At its annual meeting, The Academy of General Dentistry honored Dr. Hsung Lin with its highest, most prestigious honor, the Mastership Award. Clinical Assistant Professor Dr. Steve Ruiz received the Fellowship Award.

Dr. Andrew Arnold received the FIRMO Parathyroid Medal at MEN 2019: The 16th International Workshop on Multiple Endocrine Neoplasia for his research on parathyroid glands.

Dr. Marja Hurley was appointed to The American Society for Bone and Mineral Research Council.

The Research Society of Alcoholism has awarded Dr. Victor Hesselbrock its 2019 RSA Seixas Award for Service.

UConn Health faculty researchers Dr. Emily Germain-Lee, Dr. Se-Jin Lee, Dr. Annabelle Rodriguez-Oquendo, and Riqiang Yan, Ph.D., are among 24 newly elected members of the Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering.

Related Articles

  • New Vascular Surgery Chief Stays a Step Ahead

    Dr. Kwame Amankwah may be new to UConn Health, but he has already made a big impact on the Department of Vascular and Endovascular Surgery. In his first few months, he performed an aortic dissection repair with a newly approved device that not only covers the tear that caused the dissection but also helps to […]

  • Leadership in Diversity

    UConn School of Medicine ranks top 10 among U.S. medical schools with the most African American Students.

  • Unparalleled

    Dr. David Choi is the only neurosurgeon in Connecticut who is fellowship-trained in spinal oncology surgery.

  • ConnectiCare Passage Plan Patients Now Accepted at UConn Health

    Members of passage plans are required to get primary care provider (PCP) referrals to see any specialist in the ConnectiCare network.